Rules question from the courts…….

Another question from a player !  (Keep ’em coming!)

IFP Rule Book
Click image to the IFP rulebook


“If my partner catches the ball after I have yelled, “out,” is that ok?”

Let’s look to the IFP rulebook again.   This rule covers a variety of circumstances but clearly answers the question.

Section 7 – Fault rules:  A fault is any action that stops play because of a rule violation. A fault will be declared for the following:   (I am skipping to the rule applicable to the question.)

  • Rule 7.F.  The ball in play strikes a player or anything the player is wearing or carrying. There is one exception to this rule: if the ball strikes the player’s paddle hand below the wrist, the ball is still in play. If the ball strikes a player standing out of bounds before a fault has occurred, that player loses the rally. In doubles, if the serve strikes the receiver’s partner, it is a point for the serving team, providing it is not a let serve or a fault serve. This rule also includes balls that appear to be hit out of bounds: during play, if you catch the ball or try to stop it from heading out of bounds, you lose the rally.

Remember, a ball is not considered dead or out of bounds until it hits the floor or an object or player.  So, the answer is an easy one.  No, you may not catch a ball that is heading out of bounds, even one that is obvious to all.

FOLLOW CRAZY PICKLEBALL LADY!  Get an email immediately each time I make a new post!  Provide your email address and click FOLLOW at the top of the right column.  Then, share Crazy Pickleball Lady with your pickleball friends by clicking on the Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn icons below.


2 thoughts on “Rules question from the courts…….”

  1. Hi Crazy Pickleball Lady
    I suspect you are already aware, a new rule book will be published later this month. From what I am aware of so far, you maybe getting a large number of questions on the new rules for tournament play, that will come into force shortly after. I hope it won’t drive you Crazy trying understand the changes !! but there maybe a bit of head scratching.


    1. Thanks Ian! I’m sure there will be discussion at the USAPA Ambassador Retreat at the end of the month! Enjoy your cruise!! Hope to see you in May/June!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s