Lets face it. When there's no referee, such as in rec play, rules are sometimes overlooked, ignored or simply unknown. In the spirit of "fun play," players sometimes feel that it's not important to adhere to every single rule, to the letter. The problem is, which rules do you choose to overlook? And what happens… Continue reading Making calls in recreational play, without a referee
USAPA has been busy again! An updated rule book, hopefully with rule changes for a better playing experience, was released and put into effect February 1, 2019. I'm going to make this post the easiest and quickest one I've ever written. Here, you will see a picture of the cover of the 2019 rules book. … Continue reading Rules update – Feb. 1, 2019
POST REVISED (AGAIN) February 18, 2019 - rule change I was recently asked this question. "If a ball hits one of the net posts, and then bounces in, is it legal?" The answer is, NO. The IFP Rules book states the following: Rule 11.K. The Net Posts: The net posts (including connected wheels, arms,… Continue reading Rules question – what if the ball hits the net post? RULE REVISED 2/15/19
USAPA and the International Federation of Pickleball (IFP) have published a new update to the Official Tournament Rulebook. It is available for free online at this URL address: https://www.usapa.org/ifp-official-rules/ Look for the book cover "2019 Official Tournament Rulebook." These rules will go into effect February 15, 2019.The new rule book makes no major changes in… Continue reading Updated 2019 USAPA/IFP Rulebook
Summarizing a few of the 2018 pickleball rule changes.
We all know that when we play in a tournament, playing by the rules is required. But, in recreational or "friendly play" is it necessary to stick to every, single rule? Boy, that's a question that could spark quite a debate, and actually recently did on another pickleball blog. It also brings up a series… Continue reading Does “friendly play” mean bending the rules?
I've really tried to be up on the rules of pickleball. I've read the rule book, several times actually, and have a pretty good grasp of them. Sometimes though, there are situations that really require some extra thinking! Here’s a scenario that had me stumped! Player A unexpectedly hits a soft service return, dropping the… Continue reading What’s the call?
Often, players will ask rules questions of me. Here's a good one. This question was posed as a result of circumstances that sometimes occur in recreational play due to the friendliness of a game. “Is there a rule, or is it just player courtesy for the server to wait for the receiving team to be… Continue reading Rules question from the courts……