Pickleball tournaments around the world

It's easy to find pickleball tournaments in the USA.  Just look up Pickleball Tournaments on the web and you can search for them by date, state, or just scroll through the endless list of tournaments offered every weekend of the year, throughout the country! Now, if you're looking for a tournament to play in on … Continue reading Pickleball tournaments around the world

What’s the call?

I've really tried to be up on the rules of pickleball.  I've read the rule book, several times actually, and have a pretty good grasp of them. Sometimes though, there are situations that really require some extra thinking!  Here’s a scenario that had me stumped! Player A unexpectedly hits a soft service return, dropping the … Continue reading What’s the call?

2017 Bainbridge Cup and Spanish Open Pickleball Championships

Well, it happened again.  As my plane home pushed back from the gate at the Madrid airport, tears flowed down my cheeks.  Just the same as when I left Helsinki in June, this rush of emotions was sudden and unexpected.  But, it sure is an indicator of how much I love the people I have … Continue reading 2017 Bainbridge Cup and Spanish Open Pickleball Championships

Part 2 – Does “friendly play” mean bending the rules?

You might remember, a while back, I wrote a short post entitled "Does 'friendly play' mean bending the rules."  In that post, I asked a few questions to provoke some thought into the idea of whether or not friendly play means always playing by the rules.  I got a little sidetracked with other posts, but … Continue reading Part 2 – Does “friendly play” mean bending the rules?

After thoughts from the Glass City Classic tournament…..

Last weekend, Toledo Pickleball Club hosted their annual fundraising tournament, the Glass City Classic at their courts in Rossford, Ohio.  The tournament offered men's and women's singles, men's and women's doubles, and mixed doubles.  These events were completed over three days with a total of 236 matches played.  Players came from near and far, including … Continue reading After thoughts from the Glass City Classic tournament…..

Rules question – what if the ball hits the net post?

I was recently asked this question.  "If a ball hits one of the net posts, and then bounces in, is it legal?"  The answer is, NO. The IFP Rules book states the following: Rule 12.I - The Net Posts:   The net posts are positioned out of bounds. If a ball strikes the net post … Continue reading Rules question – what if the ball hits the net post?